Goodbye 2016…

fullsizerender

Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes

Five hundred twenty-five thousand

Moments so dear

Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes

How do you measure – measure a year?

In daylights – in sunsets

In midnights – in cups of coffee

In inches – in miles

In laughter – in strife

In – Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes

How do you measure – A year in the life

(“Seasons of Love” Lyrics from the hit Broadway show “Rent”)

As it always seems to go, another year has come and gone. A new one has begun. And also as per usual, during this time of year it’s not unusual to look back and try to “measure” your year against the timeline most of us have in our mind.

“Did I accomplish everything I wanted to?

Am I where I thought I would be at this (age, time, year…)?”

I don’t know if I’ll ever get to the end of a year and think “I’m exactly where I want to be!” Because I guess I feel like if I do, then I didn’t really strive to grow or try to accomplish anything big that year! I’m not going to grow if I only try to hit targets I know I can. I have to keep expanding my vision, working on myself and helping others to grow. DREAM BIGGER! And keep striving for the dreams and goals I haven’t hit yet, re-adjusting, re-aligning and re-focusing along the way. Prayerfully considering each step and turning to God for direction along the way.

And so, even though I would look back at 2016 and know that I didn’t check off as much as I would like to (I’m looking at you ‘house’, ‘marriage’ and ‘baby’!), there were a lot of ‘moments’ that I definitely wouldn’t trade!

Moments like:

Coffee/time with friends

Baby showers, Weddings, Housewarming and Birthday Parties

Canoeing the Fort Sask

Walks and getting outside

Watching some amazingly talented friends perform

Country drives and Cabin nights

and so much more!!!!

It’s so easy to forget all the good things that happen in a year or be overshadowed by a few not so great things that happened. So for this year in my Bullet Journal I’ve decided to make a Gratitude/Success page for each month to keep track off all the good, no matter how “small” it might seem. (I’ll definitely write a future blog post about my “dayplanner struggles” lol)

So no matter what you accomplished in 2016, hopefully you’ll remember the moments that brought you to today! And the many more you’ll have this year! Cherish them all! Cheers to a fabulous 2017!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

