Mothers Day

I love my Mom!  I love spending time with my Mom, baking or cooking or shopping or just chatting. My mom is such a hard working woman, at her job and around her home, always with a project or task on the go. And she doesn’t stop until the job is done. She is also learning new things, like hunting, chick hatching and beekeeping to name a few. She’s been a stay-at-home Mom, worked on a farm, owned a convenient store and worked at several different jobs throughout her life time so far. My Mom’s tough, she’s been knocked down a few times in life (including recently a hip replacement surgery) but she keeps on going! I’ve learned so much from my Mom that I hope to pass on to my own kids someday. I’m so proud and honoured to call this amazing lady my Mom and my friend! I love you Mom!

IMG_3575
Top Left: My Grandma and my Mom. Top Right: My sister, Mom and I getting a little old school western style family photo shoot done. Bottom Left: My Mom ‘managing’ to get around even with a new hip and crutches. Oh and a curious little horse. Bottom Right: Fresh haircut for my beautiful Mama!

I am also lucky to have many friends who are also amazing Moms and role-models for me. Lots of them go to my church, C3 Church Edmonton and recently for Mother’s Day we decided to honour all these amazing woman by blessing them with a beautiful corsage and a scripture verse when they were greeted at the door. I was tasked with figuring out a crafty way to attach these verses to the corsages and after much thought, a few ‘Pinterest’ searches, and a couple ‘failed attempts’ I found this pin for Wine Cork Pendants that I thought would be perfect to make into Corsage charms with verses on them.

photovisi-download
I used this plastic fitting (which the corks fit into perfectly) as a guide for cutting the cork into pieces. Then gave both sides a light sand just to smooth out any unevenness.

I also wanted to add a little pearl charm to the wine cork so I cut apart a couple faux-pearl bracelets that I had gotten at a friends wedding (they were originally used for napkin rings) Using  a bit of wire and a pair of needle nose pliers I fashioned them into a little charm to attach to the mini hooks that were being screwed into the wine cork.

Originally I wanted to try to use the ‘photo transfer’ technique (like I did for this project) so the words would be directly on the cork, however when I tried to wipe off the paper it wiped off the words as well (or they were incredibly difficult to read). So I decided to cut out around the verses and mod-podge them on. I used my ‘Antique Matte’ Mod-Podge which gave the white printer paper a bit of a yellowed, aged look which I thought complimented the colour of the cork very nicely!

Beautiful corsages made by Betty at Extra Special Flowers in #yeg
Beautiful corsages made by Betty at Extra Special Flowers in #yeg

The final product! I loved how they turned out and the Moms appreciated the beautiful gesture from my church to honour them.

If you’re a Mom (or not) and you’re looking for a little encouragement here are a few verses (three of them were used for the wine cork charms).

‘Her Children stand and bless her. Her husband praises her’ Proverbs 31:28 (NLT)

‘Train children in the way they should go; when they grow old, they won’t depart from it’ Proverbs 22:6 (CEB)

‘So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand’ Isaiah 41:10

‘For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and of wise discretion’           2 Timothy 1:7

‘The wise counsel of God gives when I’m awake, is confirmed by my sleeping heart. Day and night I’ll stick with God; I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go.’ Psalm 16:7-8 (MSG)

‘You are my refuge and my shield, and your promises are my only source of hope’ Psalm 119:114 (TLB)

‘May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit’ Romans 15:13 (NIV)

Happy Mothers Day to all the Mothers out there! Hope you know how special you are!

2 thoughts on “Mothers Day

  1. KAtherine

    Love this idea. you are a talented young woman … enjoy seeing what you are designing for various events…. thank you for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

