Butternut Squash, Ginger, Carrot Soup

We were pretty spoiled this year, Oct was beautiful, even had some highs in the 20’s and the snow didn’t stick around until November 8! Trust me, in Alberta, Canada that’s kind of a big deal! lol. Now that we’re almost into the new year that means winter is here to stay for awhile! Christmas is over and January is the perfect month to try out some new, healthy yummy soup and crockpot meals. (Look out for some recipes I’ll be trying out in the new year.)

I love making homemade soups and it can be so simple! And inexpensive compared to buying pre-made soup from the store. Not to mention healthier as well! I had a craving for a delicious creamy butternut squash soup the other day when I was picking up a couple things from the store. I looked at this butternut squash soup and it would have been more convenient to buy and warm up when I got home. But at $6-7 for a small package of soup I just thought I could make way more (for less money) if I made it from scratch! Plus then I would have extra to freeze. 

IMG_2379

A lot of times I don’t follow recipes, I either don’t have all the ingredients the recipe calls for or I’m just using it for inspiration. I also don’t always measure when it comes to cooking (baking is another story and different).

Here’s a general ‘recipe’ of how I made this soup. You can definitely put your own spin on it and interchange some ingredients to suit your own tastes.

1 Butternut Squash

Cinnamon

1 Onion

1 Red Pepper

2-3 Carrot

Ginger

Garlic

Spices (salt, pepper, turmeric, basil)

Whipping cream or half and half cream

1. Cut butternut squash in half lengthwise, scoop out seeds (don’t throw them out, wash and bake in the oven like pumpkin seeds,they make a delicious snack) and sprinkle with cinnamon and tumeric. Place squash in a dish with some water on the bottom and bake in oven at 350C for 45mins to 1hr until soft.

2. While squash is cooking cut up onion, red pepper, carrot, ginger and garlic and simmer in water on top of stove. Add in spices and cook until soft.

3. Combine cooked squash and cooked vegetables in a blender with a little cream and puree until smooth. Depending on the size of your blender you may need to add in portions to ensure everything is pureed together.

4. Serve with pepper and a splash of cream or dollop of plain greek yogurt.

Enjoy! I love the creamy deliciousness of this soup! Serve with a slice of crusty French bread or this soup makes the perfect starter. Either way, perfect meal for a cold winters day!

What are your favourite ‘baby, it’s cold outside’ meals?

 

Leave a Reply

