Baby Shower & Baby Blocks

IMG_1581

A close friend of mine recently had her first baby, and as I predicted ;), it was a girl! Such a precious little cutie, and she stole my heart the moment I met her! I love that I get to be her ‘Auntie’ and I get to spoil her and love her and teach her lessons that only an Auntie could! 

ddf18f6d-01ff-4a76-811b-9d69ff334c92wallpaper

For a baby shower gift I made a trip to Blue Jar Antique Mall for some inspiration. I found these cute vintage rocking crib ends and baby blocks and an idea was born (get it, lol) to make a cute little name decoration for Gabi’s room. So with a lot of sanding, primer and some freehand painting I had a precious little diy project. I like to personalize gifts when possible, the little bird and branch is the same as on the bedding in her crib. I just studied a picture her Mom had posted on FB.

Supplies:

Sandpaper (I used a 80 grit to remove the paint)

Primer

Paint (I used sample pots of Behr Ultra in Orion Grey (which I had used for another project and added white paint to make the lighter grey), Ballerina Tutu and Sweetheart. I also used Folkart Acrylic Paint in Raw Sienna and Country Twill)

Various size paintbrushes

Glue (to glue blocks)

Picture hanging hook to attach to back

*And because there were two crib ends, I still have the other side for another project! Perhaps another baby gift 🙂

7e59aa12-df07-43f6-8785-70e03033c48dwallpaper

Her sisters put on an amazing baby shower, so here’s a couple pics. Also a birdie theme. They really outdid themselves! The honey in mason jars was the perfect take home favour!

ddec6010-b331-47d3-b0f9-c0faa05d462dwallpaper

A final look at the finished project! I love when a project turns out to the way I pictured it would!

What are some projects you are working on right now?

Leave a Reply

