Thoughts On Turning THIRTY

Thoughts on turning THIRTY…

This month I hit a pretty big milestone that I was not particularly looking forward to. I turned (GULP) thirty. YIKES. No longer a twenty something…Once I got over the “shock” of turning the big 3-0 (with only a minor instance of feeling “old” when I was talking to an attractive, young twenty something at a party) I realized I’m pretty indifferent excited to be thirty.  I made mistakes in my twenties (of course! and thank goodness it was all pre-social media), and through trial and error, I hopefully learned from them and have no desire to have them repeated. Like that feeling at the beginning of a new year when the previous year hasn’t gone quite as planned, and it feels like you’re getting a fresh start…I’m excited for this new decade of my life, and my “fresh start” at thirty.

Not only am I thirty but I’m also single! (OMG, I know!) But as much as I want to be married and have babies, I’m so enjoying being single right now! I can do what I want, when I want and I don’t have to worry about a significant other. Stay up blogging or reading until 2am? Sure! Shopping without having to explain any purchases? Yes, please 😉 Time to pursue any hobbies that interest me without taking time away from a relationship? Yup! Staying at home on a weekend, lounging in my sweats, snacking on whatever I want and binge-watching an entire season of Nashville on Netflix? Uh-huh! Take a nap in the middle of the day? Oh, how I love naps! Saying yes (or no) to every social event in my calendar, without having to consult someone else’s schedule? Awesome! Of course, this won’t last forever (and I don’t want it to) but I will definitely enjoy it while I can!

A few more thoughts;

At thirty, I’m feeling more like a “grown up” (whatever that means). I’ve joked with my friends that now that I’m thirty I have started enjoying coffee, wine and (some) beer, whereas before, my palette was very limited in these areas.

ImageI love my body! Do you ever look back at pictures and think, “Wow, I looked better/was skinnier then I gave myself credit for!” I have. I want to be fit and healthy, but now, I’m going to rock the body I have. I’m not ever going to look like/have the same body type as some of my friends but that’s O-K! Thank God we don’t all look the same! What a boring world this would be if we did.

I care a lot less what people think of me. Or at least, I get over what people might think of me a lot faster. If you don’t like me then too bad cause I’m awesome 😉 lol.

Image

I know what I want (I think). Ok, I’m still figuring some things out (life IS a journey, not a destination) but I know what I don’t want. Which I think can be just as important as the latter. And when it comes to relationships, I don’t want to be in them with people who are not genuine, selfish, drama queens/kings, negative, closed minded…you get the idea… I want to invest in relationships more than “things”. Investing in people will always hold a bigger and more rewarding payoff than any commodity ever could.

I’ve also come to realize that I need to take better care of myself. Eating what I want, not exercising, going to bed with my makeup on, getting only a few hours of sleep…those things may have been “ok” for my twenty-something self, but just does not cut it now that I’m thirty. I don’t want to take my health for granted anymore and want to focus on being healthy and happy. Spirit, Soul and Body. In that order!

Image

Well, a few reflections and revelations so far on turning thirty.

I’m sure I will have a few more along the journey. 🙂

 

So, what are your thoughts about turning thirty?

(Or any other age)

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On Turning THIRTY

Leave a Reply

