Making a children’s apron

Image

“I could probably make that” is what you would hear me saying if you were to come shopping with me. (As a few of my close friends are laughing and nodding in agreement). Sometimes it’s because the price is too high to warrant the purchase (I am a sale shopper), or it just looks like it would be easy to make. I also love making things from scratch just for the sheer sense of pleasure from crafting something with my own two hands- gives the item more meaning. 

With Christmas over, I want to share one project I made for a special little girl in my life. Her mom is a close friend of mine and I nanny her other three little darlings. I love the whole family to bits! This last summer, this little girl turned 6 (so actually not that little anymore) and she received a cookbook for her birthday. On occasion she gets to pick out recipes to try and her mom adds the needed ingredients to the shopping list. So what better addition to the cookbook than her own cute, frilly apron. Her favourite colors right now are light blue, pink and purple. So I hit up the local Marshal Fabrics, a great discount place for fabrics, and purchased some pretty fabric and buttons.

This is my first sewing project of this nature so I perused the internet for inspiration. I found a pretty, frilly apron pattern here and modified it to fit a child. I changed the measurements from cm to inches for my project and modified them to be smaller. I wasn’t able to take any measurements so I had to estimate.

Materials:

Bib (x2) 10 1/2″ x 11 1/2″ (allows 1″ seams), Trim 2″ x 11 1/2″ (x2), 2″ x 10″

Strap 22 3/4 x 2 1/2″ (this was the width that was left over after cutting the waistband)

Apron 21″ x 5″ (1″ seams on side only)

Frills (x2) 6″ x width of fabric, Bottom Frill 10″ x width of fabric

Waistband 21″ x 4 1/2″, Ties (x2) 25″ x 4 1/2″

I purchased only 1/2 meter of each of the patterned fabric, if you are strategic with cutting your fabric you should not need more than that. For the pink fabric, it was only $1.00/meter so I purchased a meter. I purchased buttons that were on sale but if you have a button jar at home, you should be able to find a button instead of buying one. The trim at the bottom of the apron was a leftover scrap from a project of my roommates.

Image

I started off by getting all my material cut to ensure I had enough for each piece of the apron. I also had to figure out the color/pattern scheme for the apron since I was using multiple, patterned fabrics. Lay it out before you start so you have an idea of what the finished project will look like.

Image

Here is the ‘bib’ of the apron. I added a trim to the edges to add more of the pattered fabric in and give it more visual interest. I also added a little heart ‘pocket’. This was kind of a last minute add on and is attached using iron-on hemming tape. If I had thought of it earlier I could have sewn it on the front side of the bib before sewing together the front and back side of the bib. On the strap I sewed three button holes so that it would be adjustable and sewed a button on the backside if the bib.

Image

Both of the bottom frills are sewn to the bottom of the apron and the third frill sewn to the top leaving room for the waistband to be attached. I finished the bib and the skirt and sewed the waistband onto the piece that was left at the top of the skirt, then sewing on the bib to the top of the waistband. Lastly the ties were sewn to the edges of the waistband.

For complete pattern instructions click here, I did mainly follow this pattern with a little improvisation here and there. 🙂

For my first ‘completely sewn from scratch’ project I am pretty impressed with how its turned out!

What was your first sewing project that you tackled? Did it turn out how you expected? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

