Christmas Meringue Bites

As many people who know me are aware, I love Christmas! I love the decorating, the crafts and projects. I love buying and making gifts for my friends and family and I love receiving gifts too 😉 I also love Christmas baking! (Although I usually end up giving most of it away and my waistline usually thanks me!). A great way to celebrate the season with friends as well as get to enjoy some yummy treats is to host (or attend) a holiday cookie exchange. How does that work? Have everyone participating bake up some of their favorite holiday treats (if you have a list it can prevent everyone from bringing the same thing). Pre-package and bring to event, and at the end of the evening you walk away with several different types of holiday treats (hopefully with some recipes attached). The numbers depend on how many people are attending. For example, the cookie exchange I’m going to on the weekend, we are each bringing 10doz (1doz in each for a total of 10 treat bags).

And now here’s what I decided to make for the cookie exchange. 🙂

Image

Peppermint Meringue Kisses! Are you drooling yet? 

I love Meringue Cookies. They are a nice light treat that can be done so many different ways. I love them with whipped cream and fruit on top, I love them with shredded coconut or sliced almonds drizzled with chocolate but these fit the holiday perfectly! I found the recipe and inspiration from my Dec 2012 issue of Chatelaine.  They are super easy to make and they are melt in your mouth goodness with a hint of peppermint!

Ingredients

  • 2 egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 wooden skewers
  •  red gel food colouring
  •  green gel food colouring

For the full recipe check out the Chatelaine website!

Image

One tip: Mix meringue until it feels ‘smooth’ between your fingers. You want to make sure the sugar crystals are mixed in very well otherwise your meringues will have a ‘grainy’ texture.

Image

Image

Check out some easy step by step instructions for ‘striping’your peppermint kisses here.

Image

Image

Image

All 10doz packaged up and ready for the exchange! I wonder what kind of cookies I’ll come home with? 🙂

 

Now tell me, what’s your favorite/traditional thing to bake for the holidays? Are you a ‘home-made’ or ‘store bought’ kind of Christmas baker?

Leave a Reply

