10 Things I Love About Fall!

1. Pumpkin anything!

Image

Who can resist this seasonal flavor? Not me! I love pretty much anything pumpkin. From pumpkin spice lattes (I have the barista make mine with chi tea instead of coffee) to pumpkin loaves. From pumpkin soup to pumpkin fudge. I even like ‘pumpkin’ products like ‘Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin’ hand lotion and ‘Pumpkin Cupcake’ candle. Hmmm, delicious! (Both a gift from a friend recently from Bath & Body Works). A friend made a comment once about getting sick of pumpkin, to which I replied, “I don’t understand, sick…of…pumpkin? Those words are not in my vocabulary!” 

2. Fall Fashion!

Image

Fall is my absolute favorite time of year for fashion! I can’t picture a better evening than to curl up with my thick pile of fall fashion magazines and comb through them, marking pages as I go, checking out all the new trends of the season. The beautiful sweaters and scarves, amazing boots and coats, the gorgeous colors of the season, I love it all. Layering is a must in fall, brisk cool mornings followed by warm afternoons. Taking advantage of the last days of warmth and enjoying the outdoors before it turns cold.

Fall Fashion Must Haves: A great pair of boots, whether tall boots or ankle, flat, heels, or wedges (I’m coveting the Michael Kor’s Bromely Flat Boot), a handbag in a bold color with texture, a swingy jacket with ladylike details, beautiful scarves with a fun pattern, gloves in a bright color and nail polish as an accessory. (You don’t even have to be good at painting your nails, several companies have nail ‘stickers’ that come in hundreds of patterns & designs.)

3. Crock Pot Cooking!

With the cooler fall weather comes the desire for a heartier meal (salad? No thank-you!). And there is nothing better than walking in the door to the smell of your supper simmering in the crock pot. Not only is it simple and convenient, but there are plenty of recipes and options to choose from. There are even cookbooks dedicated entirely to recipes for your crock pot/slow cooker. Some of my favourites are chilli, roasts and homemade soup.  Yummy!

4. The great outdoors!

Image

I love the colors of fall in fashion and I love the colors of fall outdoors! (I don’t think it’s a coincidence that they’re the same J). I’ve heard that we draw inspiration from many different sources, one being your surroundings. And there’s no better inspiration than taking a walk through the park or in the countryside when the leaves are changing colors and there is an explosion of color everywhere.

5. Thanksgiving!

As I already mentioned in my ‘Gratitude is Contagious’ post, Thanksgiving is a great time of year to get together with family and friends and just enjoy your time together. My thanksgiving weekend is usually busy, going from dinner to dinner, but I love the opportunity to connect with people over some delicious food. (Also, I think, an integral part of thanksgiving). I love traditions and every home has different ones. It’s fun to experience other people’s traditions that may be different than the ones you were accustomed to growing up.

6. Baking!

Image

I love to bake! Cookies, muffins, breads…I love watching shows like TLC’s ‘Cake Boss’ and Slice’s ‘Cupcake Girls’ and dream about being able to create some of the beautiful works of art they create on the show. For now I’ll have to settle for baking for my friends and family.

Here’s a recipe for zucchini bread that I made recently. (It was delicious!)

7. Halloween!

Image

Halloween is such a fun time of year! I love seeing all the kids dressed up in their costumes. It’s also a great time of year for all you DYI’ers out there. The decorating possibilities are only limited by your imagination! From your decor to your costume (or your kids costume).

I love to entertain and Halloween is a great excuse to throw a party!

8. Soup!

I know, another food category. I guess you can tell it’s kind of a theme for fall for me. (Which doesn’t really help out the fashion category but oh well J). Soup goes back to the fact that it’s a delicious hearty food that is perfect for cooler fall days when you’re craving some warmth. Whether you make it in a slow cooker or on the stove, it’s also a great way to clean out your fridge. And you can make a huge pot of soup and freeze it for easy re-heating. (I usually don’t get to this part because I’ll just eat it until it’s gone, lunch & dinner everyday!)

9. Fall TV Line-up!

Image

Of course there’s nothing on TV all summer, but fall is when all my favorite shows (and some new ones) are back on TV! Some of my favorites are: Glee (yes, I’m a Gleek!), Gossip Girl, Dragon’s Den, Shark Tank & Celebrity Apprentice to name a few. Thank goodness for PVR so I can just tape all my favorite shows and watch them when I’m free.

10. 3 Months until Christmas!

I know this is a post about fall, but I see fall/Halloween as the start of the ‘decorating season’ with Christmas as the big finale! I absolutely love the Christmas season (decorating, baking, shopping, gifts, spending time with family and friends, DYI crafts and projects) and fall is just a warm-up!

 

Now tell me, what are some of your favorite things about fall?

 

Leave a Reply

